JMU statue (copy)

The major positions re-election will be held March 16. 

Following the major elections on Feb. 24, presidential candidate Seemran Patel appealed the results due to an error in the voting system. However, the appeal was denied and official positions were announced. Jewel Hurt claimed victory as student body president, Ben Rosenberger was announced as vice president, Cayhan Movaghari as executive treasurer and Desiree Edemba as the student representative to the board of visitors.  

According to the Student Government Association, the appeal was reevaluated. There’ll now be a re-election for all major positions on March 16 because of the error in the system, which caused many students the inability to vote.

Contact the news desk at For more coverage of JMU and Harrisonburg news, follow the news desk on Twitter @BreezeNewsJMU.